DAYS 4, 5, & 6, 01/07-03/07

Work is draining. So, so draining. I hate lesson planning, and the kids can be seriously annoying, but I do still get a kick out of teaching, surprisingly. Today, one of my boys, Quentin (13), had an entire conversation with his friend during which he replied in English to every single question Gaspard (14) asked in French. It was fantastic to hear, even though they were talking about their favourite characters in Game of Thrones

We’re much much more independent than I anticipated being, and we are actually teaching the students about 1/3 of the time they spend at summer school. It’s a little different to what I expected, especially in that we are responsible for thinking up exercises that are an appropriate level. I have to say, it has been a really long week.

On Tuesday night, after work, I met up with Lucy Hart, Janmo and Geoff for a drink at La Rotonde at Stalingrad. Granted, we spent most of the time exchanging SJC gossip, but it was a lovely evening, and a great opportunity to see more of Paris.

Last night, the three other girls I work with and I took a trip to the Opéra Bastille to see La Bohème. One of the girls, Claire, a Durham student, managed to find a limited number 5€ tickets. We got there an hour and a half early, but as we reached the front of the queue it transpired that there were just 3 tickets remaining for the four of us. Kindly, Lydia and Sophie offered to surrender their places. Claire and I stood (for 2h30) and enjoyed a fabulous performance (though a limited view) of the opera.

After four packed days, it has been quite a relief to take this evening off. I’m currently sitting in my apartment with my legs out of the window. It’s nearly 8pm and 29°C… Life is tough.

S. X

Leave a Reply

