DAYS 9, 10 & 11, 06/07-08/07

Ended up leaving the house Sunday due to internet boredom and Speculoos consumption rate.

Headed straight for Le Marais to search for a bar in which I could relax, embrace Parisian café culture, and watch the Wimbledon men’s final.

Found a vibrant café and enjoyed the company of a couple of visiting Kiwis, two Yanks, and a lone Frenchman. Fortunately, we were all supporting the Swiss, so no disputes there.

Admittedly, I was dreading Monday morning. I made the unwise choice of staying up late to watch Game of Thrones, which made the shrill 7.30 alarm even more despicable.

The past two days of teaching have been more tolerable – I think we’re getting used to being in control, although I keep losing the plot with the youngest group. Alex, who’s about 13, I think, repeats “Yes, yes, it’s good” after we answer any questions he has or we set him any work. It is completely inadvertent, but once I realised, every time he said it, I couldn’t hold it in. Terrible teacher that I am, for laughing at my students.

This week is racing past, but I’m very excited for the end of this course. I have enjoyed getting to know my new city, although my French hasn’t improved quite yet. I also might have found an apartment! A little haven in the 16th with three other girls… I’ll keep you posted!

S.X

Leave a Reply

