DAYS 12-15 09/07-12/07

That’s it! I’m done!

Yesterday, I finished teaching at our summer school. While I don’t feel that my French has come on all that much since I’ve been here, and some days I have wanted to scream and yell and cry and hit the kids all at once, I have appreciated the new experience of teaching. It’s clear to me that I am just not cut out for it, but it has given me an increased respect for teachers who are courageous enough to do it for a living! (There you go, Liberty.)

I spent Wednesday after work at the Louvre. It was an extraordinary attack on the senses: I couldn’t believe quite how much there was to see in just one museum. I am going to need to do several trips before I see the whole thing; nobody can stand the sheer number of tourists for longer than two, two and a half hours maximum. Nevertheless, I did see La Joconde (Mona Lisa). Like everyone says, it is smaller than I had imagined it to be. I also discovered my new favourite place in Paris: the sculpture gallery. It was by far the most peaceful area in the museum, and though I had seen photos, I was blown away by its beauty, as well.

On Thursday, the girls and I headed to Le Voltigeur for a demi-peche to celebrate the end of work, and went on to L’As du Fallafel to try Paris’s most famous fast food. Thankfully, it lived up to its reputation. It was by far the greatest falafel I have ever tasted. I think I was short-changed because I didn’t get enough aubergine in my pita, but I promise to take every visitor I host next year there (so I can get more aubergine.)

Last night I had my first Parisian night out. Emilia, Geoff and I managed to negotiate an invitation to a pre-drinks on Rue de l’Université with the current Exeter/Bristol/Edinburgh year abroad social circle. The apartment took up the entire fifth floor of a stunning Haussman building, and was stuffed full of fascinating books, travel souvenirs and knick-knacks. The guest bathroom mirror was surrounded by 20-25 stuffed exotic birds… We didn’t end up going out until 1.30am, but in Paris, that doesn’t matter: nights out don’t end until 6am here. We had all bought tickets to a house night to see Goldfish, Faul & Wad Ad and two other DJs who we missed at a club called Showcase. The vibe was Nova meets Jimmy A’s: the dream.

Spent the day today recovering from my 6.30am bedtime. I enjoyed a lazy morning in bed and then as the sun burst through the clouds I headed out for a walk. Tomorrow I am planning on cracking Saint-Germain-des-Prés and the Musée Rodin, provided the weather stays nice.

S.X

Leave a Reply

